Swap Memory Usage?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lbeck, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. lbeck macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #1
    I have a new 6 core mac pro with 24gb of RAM. Today I was ripping a DVD mobie with ripit and also making a compressed file through finder. No big deal. Activity monitor said I was using about 10GB of RAM, but it also had about 9GB of RAM in the swap usage.

    Why is that? And should that be happening? Screenshot attached of activity monitor.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Mb = Megabit, MB = MegaByte, and yes, robbieduncan is an eight right, you only have a swap file of 9MB.

    Btw lbeck, you can make smaller screenshots by adjusting the window size, as your screenshot as a lot of wasted space.
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I always get those the wrong way round :eek:
     
  5. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #5
    Sorry about the huge screenshot, that was my first time posting. Thanks for the tip!

    I feel stupid now, I assumed It was GB and not MB. Either way, swap memory is only supposed to be used when your physical memory is gone, right? I still had plenty of RAM left. Shouldn't my swap usage be 0, right?

    All the time I check it and it is 0 but today it wasn't. Why was there usage if I still had physical memory left?

    Finder was compressing a 32GB file but I don't think that's a reason for swap usage, even if it was only 9 MB
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Page outs are more worrisome that swap usage.
     
  7. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #7
    So based off my screenshot do you see an issue? Or dies it all look ok?
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I wouldn't be worried about such a small page out total.
     
  9. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #9
    In theory though, shouldn't swap usage be zero if there is still so much free ram?
     

Share This Page