Swap out Flash memory in iPhone ??

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by fab5freddy, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    I was wondering if it is possible to swap out my 8 GB iPhone Flash memory
    with possibly a 32 GB flash memory ?

    Is it possible to pry it open and switch ??
     
  2. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #2
    That's crazy, plus I don't think that there are enough slots.
     
  3. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #3
    I'm pretty sure the memory is soldered onto the logic board, so you can't do it.
     
  4. Dr. Cabrera macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    oy, this gets asked like ever other week


    currently 16gb chips are the highest nand chips available

    iphone 1 slot

    ipod touch 2 slots ( hence 32gb)


    please close this thread
     
  5. jszeto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #5
    Possible

    As 2 16GB can use one on top the other! Some older 8GB also did just that! I have used to put 8GB Nand flash into 4GB! it work
     
  6. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #6
    Your call to close the thread would probably carry more weight if you actually understood the question.

    What does the iPod Touch and the number of slots have to do with anything? He has an 8 GB chip in his current iPhone. He wants to know if he could take it out and put one of the upcoming 32 GB chips in its place.

    The answer happens to be no, that would probably be impossible.

    But that doesn't change the fact that your response has nothing to do with the question, so saying "this gets asked like every other week" isn't accurate. I don't recall ever seeing this asked around here.
     
  7. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #7
    You could, provided:

    1) You can get a chip with the same pinout as the Samsung one that's in there.

    2) You can desolder it from the board without breaking anything.

    3) The new chip is a drop-in replacement, and can be controlled and accessed in exactly the same way.

    Realistically, the answer will likely be "no" -- but who knows... it could be possible. Just don't hold your breath...
     
  8. Masquerade macrumors 6502a

    Masquerade

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #8
    if you ask this kind of question, then don't try it.
     
  9. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #9

    ... and this lie gets perpetrated just as much. 32GB chips are now available from multiple companies (Intel, Samsung).
     
  10. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #10
    Indeed they are. On a related note, will you be paying for your NAND purchase via FirstBorn today, or would you like to use the arm-and-leg payment plan?
     
  11. Robby9279 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #11
    +1, from what I've read in the past I believe they are soldered on to the logic board as well. So unless you have some unique way of being able to "unsolder" it from the logic board without screwing it up, then you can't replace it.
     
  12. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #12
    It's actually not that hard to desolder chips from PCBs. The real issues are a) resoldering and b) finding a suitable replacement.
     
  13. kevrick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    #13
    it can be done if u get the memory chip from another ipod like the 32gig:apple:
     
  14. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #14
    Why the hell did you revive a two and a half year old topic when it's already been answered??

    Let it die.
     

Share This Page