Swap SSD currently in use to newer Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by timmbe, Nov 3, 2016.

  1. timmbe macrumors newbie

    timmbe

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #1
    Hi,

    I currently have a MacBook Pro 13 inch Mid 2010 (MacBookPro7,1) that I've upgraded with Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB.

    I also have a MacBook Pro 15 inch Retina Mid 2014 (MacBookPro11,2) and would like to use this instead of the 13 inch model. The 15 inch model only has an original 256 GB flash storage and I would like to replace this with the Samsung SSD I have installed in the 13 inch model.

    Is it possible to install my Samsung SSD in the 15 inch Mid 2014 MB without losing any data?
    Do I have to factory reset the SSD before placing it in new MB? Can I just swap harddisks?

    Thank you.
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    It is not possible at all. The Retina machines use entirely different form factor SSDs, and they're not cross-compatible.
     
  3. timmbe thread starter macrumors newbie

    timmbe

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #3
    Hi, thanks for your reply.

    What kind of SSD's are compatible with the 15 inch Macbook Mid 2014 model? I think of going for a 1TB.
    And can I easily install my TimeMachine backup (from external drive) to my new 1TB SSD without reinstalling MacOS?
     
  4. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #4
    Yes time machine work fine I have done that myself.

    The SSDs are quite expensive as they are apple proprietary.

    Only thing I found with time machine migration is some apps stopped working as was licensed on old mac not the new one, I just removed them and bought again where required.
     
  5. timmbe thread starter macrumors newbie

    timmbe

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #5
    Thanks for info.
    Indeed the Flash upgrades are pretty expensive, especially the 1TB ones.
    http://store.mcetech.com/mm/merchant.mvc?Store_Code=mtos&Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=PCIEFLASH

    Unfortunately only 256GB of disk space is no option for me..
     
  6. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #6
    I know what you mean I have 240GB thinking it would be ok.
    but it not, but thankfully mine takes a standard disc like your 13"

    I have advantage of old unit so can swap the DVD for another HDD/SSD

    That is another reason I stick with slightly older mac as user upgrades at a reasonable price!

    Even my imac has a DVD which I'm going to replace with HDD.
     
  7. Kudos6612 Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    #7
    I would look at eBay. 1tb ssd drives for the retina MacBook Pro 2013-2015 go for around 800 while 512gb go for around 550.
     
  8. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #8
    OWC do sell upgrades they are expensive and don't support trim though!!

    Your best bet at this point is to sell what you have then buy what you need that will probably be the cheapest way to do what you want.
     
  9. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #9
    - Apple original ones or the OWC Aura.
    https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/ssd/owc/macbook-pro-retina-display/2013-2014-2015

    - Something is fishy with that company. The drives pictured look exactly like Apple ones, yet they claim they aren't. I wouldn't trust it.
     
  10. timmbe thread starter macrumors newbie

    timmbe

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #10
    That's actually not a bad idea.
    I still have my 320GB HDD that came with the 13inch and I rarely use my DVD tray.

    Can I swap the RAM sticks from the 15 inch model to the 13 inch model?
    - Current 13 inch = 2x 4GB 1067MHz DDR3
    - Current 15 inch = 2x 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
     
  11. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #11
    - No. The Retina doesn't have RAM sticks; RAM is soldered on the logic board.

    There are exactly zero internal components that are compatible between the two machines.
     
  12. timmbe thread starter macrumors newbie

    timmbe

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #12
    That's too bad.
    Thanks for info anyway.
     
  13. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #13
    Your 13" will take 16GB with an EFI update according to everymac.com

    I prefer the 13s myself as bit more portable.
    Superdrive bay adapters are cheap on ebay also so are caddies to make the superdrive USB.

    Got adapters at home for my machine just not got round to doing it yet.
     
  14. timmbe thread starter macrumors newbie

    timmbe

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #14
    I have already upgraded my 13 inch a couple of years ago (320 HDD -> 500 SSD / 2x2GB -> 2x4GB RAM)
    I could place the old HDD disk in my DVD tray, but as I use iMovie quite a lot, the problem with slow processor (Intel Core 2 Duo) and only 8GB of RAM still remains..

    On the other hand I do not want to spend over 600 euros for a 1TB flash drive..
     
  15. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #15
    You have a 2.4 or 2.66 CPU.

    You can upgrade to 16GB ram if you update the EFI
    Yes your still limited by CPU.

    I do not use imovie so I cannot offer anything there.

    my 2009 macbook still going strong, 8GB ram and 240GB ssd and 2.26 CPU.
    But as said no imovie.
     

Share This Page