swap Using

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by recki, Oct 19, 2016.

  1. recki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    i have 24GB RAM and my swap is using mostly since sierra. After Reboot is swap empty but it takes not a long time and swpa is using.
    RAM: 24G
    used RAM: 20GB
    cache 2GB
    swap ,7GB

    how can i prevent it?

    regards ré
     
  2. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #2
    You can power off the machine. Otherwise, you can just use the computer. The operating system manages the details, and there is nothing you can or should try to do to upset that. Do you obsess over the number of processes, the clock frequency, the cooling fan RPM, etc? No? Then forget about memory use too. I'm seriously.
     
  3. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #3
    I'm not sure if your swap usage is normal or not. Swapping (paging) depends upon your personal computing habits, assuming the OS is performing correctly.

    Apple on its Virtual Memory System -- https://developer.apple.com/library...tual/ManagingMemory/Articles/AboutMemory.html

    When you open an Activity Monitor session, in the memory pane, keep an eye on the "memory pressure" graphic; it's best to be in-the-green. Also find out/monitor what's using large percentages of your RAM, and determine if that usage makes sense.
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #4
    If you feel comfortable doing so, you can TURN OFF disk swapping and run that way. You need to do this through the terminal and then reboot.

    I've been booting and running my 2012 Mac Mini this way for months without problems, with just 10gb of installed RAM.

    With 24gb you ought to be ok, but then again -- depends on how much of it that you're using.
     
  5. recki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    #5
    Hi,

    thanks for the answer. I am not in trouble with the Performance but i cant exchange my SSD and the newer iMacs are not easy to open for exchange. The Problem is new with sierra. Before i didnt have this Problems.

    regards ré
     

Share This Page