Swapped 4,1 boards with 5,1 boards, same 4,1 serial - will Mojave work?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macbookprodude, Nov 21, 2018.

  1. Macbookprodude macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #1
    Hello, as the title states I have a 2009 Mac Pro which is now a 2010 Mac Pro, well it has been since 2010 when i got the parts then at wholesale. My question is will I still be able to run Mojave even though the identifier is MacPro5,1 though serial still says 2009 Mac Pro ? Is there a way to erase the serial and put in a 2010/2012 mac pro serial ?

    Any help also would be great for a really inexpensive metal based card for my system, as I plan to install Mojave on this. Will I also be able to run Mojave at full acceleration ?


    Thank you and everyone have a great Turkey Day !
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    You could have just flashed the firmware from a 2010/2012 into your 2009 and not bought any parts, aside from a GPU which supports Metal, to run Mojave. The macOS installer doesn't look at the serial number at all.
    Edit: if your computer still shows up as a 2009 Mac Pro in "About this Mac" then what you bought is actually already a flashed 2009 board.
    The AMD RX560 is a good entry level GPU for Mojave/Metal compatibility.
     
  3. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #3
    macOS installer just look for the BoardID, but iCloud/FaceTime/iMessage looks for everything.

    You can't just get a 2010/2012 dump and flash it into a 2009 board. You have to upgrade it using the netkas forum script or manualy reconstruct it changing the LBSN_BD jump points.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Regardless, none of that is necessary, or relevant. Mojave installs fine on a flashed 4,1 which is what the OP has. iCloud, etc. doesn’t care what model the serial is from, it just needs to have a unique serial.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  6. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #6
    It's not as simple as you say. iMessage needs a valid the MLB/LBSN serial to work and the UUID to be valid too.
    If it was just as you say, you could flash the generic locked.fd and then use BBS to serialise the board. That don't work for iMessage, if you doubt, just test.
     
  7. Macbookprodude thread starter macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #7
    Hi, and no I bought the 2010 boards back in 2010 for a great price of 300.00 - I had a friend who is an Apple tech install them and it does say that my Mac Pro is 5,1 here:

    Hardware Overview:



    Model Name: Mac Pro

    Model Identifier: MacPro5,1

    but serial number is still saying: 2009 mac pro.. but u say this does not matter, so it should still work, right ?

    Mac Pro (Early 2009)
    --- Post Merged, Nov 22, 2018 ---
    Single 6-core
    --- Post Merged, Nov 22, 2018 ---
    Actually, its not flashed, as I had the 2010 boards put in my 2009 case.. so in fact, it is a 2009 with a 2010 backplane board and processor board.
     
  8. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #8
    What’s the SMC version? If it’s 1.39f11 it’s a 2010/2012 board, if it’s 1.39f5 it’s 2009 flashed board.
     
  9. Macbookprodude thread starter macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #9
    Hi, sorry for late response: here it is:

    Boot ROM Version: MP51.0084.B00

    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11

    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11


    So, you can see that this is swapped boards, not firmware update.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Macschrauber macrumors 6502

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    So how comes the serial number got transfered from your 2009 to 2010 logic board ??
     
  11. Macbookprodude thread starter macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #11
    Hallo ! Wie Geht's ? The Apple tech where I went to did the swap and he copied over the 2009 serial.. is there a way to erase it and put a 2010 on it, or does it really matter as the SMC version is: SMC Version (system): 1.39f11 for backplane and processor board.
     

Share This Page

10 November 21, 2018