swapping HDD from the lower to the upper bay

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by madrag, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. madrag macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    Today I'm finally receiving the flex cable I ordered from eBay (iFixit didn't have the cable for a lower occupied HDD (so the cable for the upper available bay), and buying from OWC would be very expensive due to the delivery price).

    My plan is to add an SSD (Crucial M500, 480GB, already in my hands and tested via an external USB3 box).

    I'm not sure if it will deliver 6Gb or not, and I would like to use the original flex cable that came with the Mini for testing/speed test (because I reckon the original cable may be faster), and use the new cable for the HDD and obviously place the HDD in the upper bay.

    So, my question:

    Is it ok to place the HDD from the lower bay to the upper bay?
    My concerns are the temperature and noise, and/or sensors that the original cable may have, that swapping cables might make me lose the sensor?
     
  2. bax2003, Mar 31, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #2
    This is my experience.

    I bought Samsung 840 EVO 120GB. 1TB Hitachi disk was in lower bay, so I just put SSD in free upper bay. Booted.....no SSD. I just had to try this.
    Do not waste your time, put SSD in lower bay where your system disk is now (500GB/1TB).

    So, this is upper bay, do not put SSD in there. Put your current HDD there.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. madrag thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the reply!

    But did you notice any change in the HDD temperature and noise?

    And does the original cable have a sensor for the temperatures? or is it gathered somewhere else?

    Finally, did the original cable give a 6Gb bandwidth?
     
  4. bax2003, Mar 31, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    SSD speeds are well over 400MB/s, so no cable issue.
    System fan did not speed up, it is still around 1800 rpm in idle or just browsing.

    Temperature value is obtained from SMART. So, if HDD/SSD is working, you can get temperature reading without problems, unless your are running RAID array.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. COrocket macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #5
    If the cable is constructed properly, it should have no impact on speed and both bays should run at 6 Gb/s speeds. This has been my experience with a third party OWC cable.
     

Share This Page