Swapping HDDs in Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tifstorey, Oct 8, 2015.

  1. Tifstorey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #1
    Afternoon.

    Apologies if there's lots of info out there on this, it seems like a question that may have been asked before, but I can only find it relating to Macbook Pros..

    I have a 2009 Mac Pro and looking at purchasing a 2012 Mac Pro. If I go ahead with it, can I simply replace the HDDs in my current mac pro into the 2012 model or could it cause potential issues?

    Cheers,
     
  2. JoSch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    #2
    It shouldn't cause problems. In fact, I have done exactly that, when I upgraded from an 1,1 to a 3,1.
     
  3. Tifstorey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
  4. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #4
    Normally there is not any problem.
    Only if you use a very old OS X version, before 2010, you may have some issues/hardware unsupported in the new one...
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    Yes, no issues on fitment. The sleds in the 2009-2012 ( 4,1 & 5,1) Mac Pros are identical. They are longer than the sleds in a 2006-2008 (1,1 - 2,1 and 3,1) Mac Pro. Minimum OS on a 2012 Mac Pro is 10.7.3.

    Lou
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    I've done this before and it worked fine. I've even booted a Mac Mini from an SSD pulled from a Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page