swapping hdds

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jetjaguar, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #1
    i plan on replacing the 320gb hdd in my mbp with a 500gb one .. when i put in the new drive can i just boot from the osx install disc that came with my machine ?? i dont want to clone my old drive
     
  2. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
  4. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #4
    even though the new hdd will have no partitions ?
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    The install process will help you create one.
     
  6. JustGretchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #6
    You will be able to format during the install process OR prior to the install process, if you wish to create more than 1 partition or do something else to the drive, you can choose UTILITIES > DISK UTILITY from the menu at the top of the screen once you've booted to your restore disk.

    best of luck.
     
  7. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere

Share This Page