Swapping HDs from one model Pro to another

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TimRaines, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. TimRaines macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    #1
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    I'd put the 500GB in a USB enclosure and do a fresh OSX install on the new Mac. Then use migration assistant. Added bonus of reformatting the old drive and using it as a TM backup.
     
  3. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #3
    I'd do the same thing. New MBPro would have a fresh new HDD.
     
  4. TimRaines thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for the quick help, gents.

    Do you think it would be worth it? It doesn't seem as if the Pro has come a significant distance over the past two years... would I be better off just buying a used version of my 2010 model, or do you think I'll notice an improvement if I upgrade?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #5
    Why not 13" rMBPro or 13" MBAir for something significantly different?
     
  6. TimRaines thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    #6
    Well, that would be lovely :) But... $$$

    I've got a seller on the 2012 MBPro for just $1,100.
     
  7. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #7
    Then you answered your own question. :D Remember to add 16GB of RAM.
     

Share This Page