Swapping HDs has led to some unusual issues

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tonsko, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. Tonsko macrumors 6502

    Tonsko

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #1
    Hey all,

    A few weeks back I had to swap out my Samsung XT disk for the HD that came with the MBP. This was required by a client as they needed a fresh install of OSX, specialised tools and also whole disk encryption. Once I had finished the project, I simply swapped the XT disk back in. I have noticed that the startup times reaaaaaally drag, and I'm getting the beach ball a lot more than I used to just doing day-day stuff. Having just read something about resetting PRAM etc - would using another disk, different software and enabling disk encryption require this to be done? Is it worth a try anyway?

    Can anyone think of any other reasons/fixes?
     
  2. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Not an issue that I'm aware of.

    I was regularly swapping drives around in my uMB when evaluating full disk encryption (Checkpoint) for work without any issues. It added about 10 seconds on the first start up after a swap while it detected the different drive.

    I did recently upgrade to a bigger drive and cloned across the original using Carbon Copy Cloner. The new drive had serious beachball issues after the clone and Disk Utility couldn't detect/fix it. Ended up doing a clean install then using Migration Assistant to copy the data back from Time Machine and it's been perfect since.
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  4. Tonsko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Tonsko

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #4
    I was hoping not to do a reinstall......noticed battery life appears to have diminished a little - but only by looking at the 'time left' indicator. I don't know how reliable it is, and it could be a phantom issue.

    Not used migration assistant before - do I just make sure I have a recent Time machine backup and then just set it going?

    By the way - how did you find checkpoint? I was using PGP (now purchased by Symantec). Seemed ok.
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    It can't hurt to try it...
     
  6. Tonsko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Tonsko

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #6
    Righto, will give it a go. Ta.
     
  7. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    I quite like Checkpoint. Worked flawlessly under 10.5, no noticeable performance hit and the uninstall and recovery features just work. I've not tried it on 10.6 yet.

    The only criticism I have is the admin UI's a bit clunky - as if the Windows version was imported into X11. At least it's consistent with the Windows version though.
     

Share This Page