swapping into a new case

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jetjaguar, Oct 4, 2013.

  1. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #1
    how hard is it ? was thinking of getting a new case since mine is kinda marked up. Is there a walkthrough on how to do it?
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    Not hard at all if you have right tools, but for the first time it could be a bit time consuming. Best "walkthrough" is called Apple Service Manual or Apple Technician Guide ;)
     
  3. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #3
    hmmm i got time to do it .. but just never taken a mac pro apart before
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
  5. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
  6. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    I did it. I bought the case from some company in California off eBay.
    It came sealed in the original box from the factory in China. Had a complete set of new fans inside, too. Bluetooth and Airport antennas were included as well.

    A very easy (and fun) job to swap the hardware into the new enclosure.

    I recommend that the LAST thing you remove from the OLD case is the PSU. It's much easier to turn the hex screws with the motherboard out of the way. And, for the same reason, the PSU should be the FIRST thing you place into the new case.

    Motherboard removal is a bit tricky. The Apple Service manual shows you how to disassmeble.
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Transferring the components to a new Mac Pro case is also beneficial according to a Mac Tech I spoke to. You would be disconnecting/unseating then reconnecting and re-seating components that would give your machine a good "hardware reset" or refresh.
     
  8. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #8
    How long did the shipping take to get to you? UPS has yet to provide a actual estimate for which day it'll get here. Just wondering because my Mac Pro I ordered is in Hong Kong right now and most likely came from the same place as your case.
     
  9. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    It took a few days to arrive.
    The case was manufactured in China originally. It did not ship from there, however. It shipped from California and I live on the East Coast US.
     
  10. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #10
    Thanks for all the info. I think I am going to hold off. I have done enough work on this machine for the time being.
     

Share This Page