Swapping Logic/Motherboard between...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by RaeRae29, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. RaeRae29 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #1
    Carriers? Is it possible to use a Verizon logic board with a T-mobile phone /SIM?
    Iphone 5, Everything was fine, until a battery replacement happened and pry issues followed.
     
  2. hovscorpion12 macrumors 65816

    hovscorpion12

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    All Verizon Wireless smartphones come sim unlocked allowing the use any United States brand carrier Sim Card. The logic board is not related with a carrier sim card and should not be removed or attempted.
     
  3. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #3
    Technically, yes. However, doesn't mean it will work fully with your carrier. Putting a T-Mobile iPhone 5 logic board in your phone won't allow it to work on Verizon because of the CDMA based 1xRTT network (TMO doesn't use CDMA). Now, putting a Verizon iPhone 5 board in your TMO iPhone would work since it is SIM unlocked, however since that particular logic board doesn't support certain bands some data networks might or will not work (for instance, LTE won't work on any other carrier then Verizon with a VZW board because the 5 only supports VZW LTE bands).

    Of course all this depends on wether or not the antennas actually support this. Although I do not see why they wouldn't, they could use a different antenna setup in the CDMA model versus the GSM model. Personally, I'd either get the correct board or just get another phone. Taking it to Apple and telling them what happened might get you a replacement since the issues started after the repair.
     
  4. Luis G. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    #4
    Yes it will work but as mentioned may have issues with carrier.

    Secondly your touch ID will stop working unless you swap that out along with the motherboard.
     
  5. RaeRae29 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #5
    It's just the 5, not 5s. It is a t-mobile phone to start with, but having a tough time finding another t-mobile iphone 5 that has a clean imei. I can send it in and get the U3 chip fixed, but that'll cost me roughly $110 or so. Thanks for the info guys!
     

Share This Page