Swapping Mac Pro 2010 CPU board to Mac Pro 2009

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, May 30, 2014.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    Is is possible ? I know SMC must match, but if I already updated firmware from 4,1 to 5,1 will it work out of the box when replace the whole board with heatsinks and dual 6-core CPU's ?
     
  2. jimj740, May 30, 2014
    Last edited: May 30, 2014

    jimj740 macrumors regular

    jimj740

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Pining for the company that once gave us Clarus
    #2
    In a word: No.

    Upgrading the firmware will not affect the SMC revision, you would need to swap both the CPU tray and the motherboard to the 2010 variant.
     
  3. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    OK. So it's easier to just place 2010-2012 CPU's inside 2009 CPU board and just upgrade firmware to 5,1 ;)
     
  4. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Yep. The Westmere 2010-2012 cpus will work on a 2009 4.1 cpu tray with the firmware upgraded to 5.1. From your signature, your Mac Pro is still quite fast. From my usage of 2009 Nehalem and Westmere 2010 Mac Pros, both are fast and stable.
     

Share This Page