Swapping Macbook HD's?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dextertangocci, Jun 17, 2007.

  1. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #1
    Hi guys

    I have the original CD 2Ghz MB with a 60GB HD. My dad just got a blackbook with a 160GB HD. He says he doesn't need all that HD space, so if I want I can swop my HD for his.

    Is this possible? I know the MB has a user updgradable HD, but how would I make an exact copy of my HD onto the blacbooks HD? The blacbook has nothing on the HD yet so it's alright if it gets erased. I have a 250GB external HD that I could use for temporary storage.

    Thanks in advance:)

    -dextertangocci
     
  2. zephead macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #2
    Hmm.. I have an idea. There's one thing I have to ask first though: Would you be able to clone to and boot from your external HD?
     
  3. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #3
    Couldn't you just use Migration Assistant to move everything over from your existing HD X onto the new HD Z? Then physically swap HD Z into your MacBook, move your original HD X into your dad's MB and then do an "Erase & Install" to give it that spic 'n' span, fresh-outta-the box feeling?
     
  4. dextertangocci thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #4
    Oh yes.. Thanks, never thought of that.. But do you know if it would copy everything the way I have it now, apps, preferences etc?

    Thanks:)
     
  5. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #5
    you could use superduper! to clone your drive onto your dad's drive, swap drives and use immediately. then all you have to do is reinstall mac os x onto your dad's macbook.
     

Share This Page