Swapping Screens on CDMA and GSM iPhone 6 Plus?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by beast1989, Apr 6, 2016.

  1. beast1989 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    #1
    I broke my screen on my AT&T iphone 6 Plus and I'm looking to buy a locked iphone for cheap to do a screen swap.

    Are all iphone 6 Plus screens compatible regardless of what carrier they were made for or if they are GSM vs CDMA?
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    The screens are the same as long as the iPhone model is the same. GSM or CDMA makes no difference.
     
  3. beast1989 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    #3
    The seller I found is international, is it safe to assume that his iPhone screen would still work?
     
  4. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #4
    As long as his iPhone is the same model as yours it should work. Just make sure that the iPhone is indeed a 6+ and that you don't get sucked into a bad deal from someone that you can't get your money back from.
     
  5. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #5
    all the iPhone 6+ phones in america are both cdma and gsm

    switching your screen is going to break your touch id. this was a big thing when apple bricked the phones a month ago

    the apple store replacing your iPhone 6+ screen in their store in an hour and making sure to register the touch id chip is only $129, i would go for it. i got square trade , they aren't even charging deductibles anymore on iPhone screens
     
  6. beast1989 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    #6
    Wait, what? Doing a screen swap is going to brick the phone, I've never heard that before.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 7, 2016 ---
    It's on eBay so I have buyer protection if they misrepresent the product. Thank you for answering my questions chscag.
     
  7. rigormortis, Apr 7, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #7
    the cause of "error 53" and the iPhones being bricked and needing a new version of iOS 9.2.1 to unbrick them was because people like you who wanted to save the $129 and decided to replace their screens without resetting the touch id system.

    if you replace the screen , your touch id system will fail. and you will need to go to the genius bar for them to re-enable touch id, and until it is fixed, you will no longer be able to apple pay. that is if your lucky, if you are running an earlier version of iOS 9.2.1 , your phone will just die.

    i checked my iMessages. if you replace the screen without telling apple pay on an iPhone 6 and you are running 13d15 of 9.2.1 your phone will brick. if you are running 13d20 of 9.2.1, your apple pay will be disabled until the genius bar resets it.

    there was never an over the air update from 13d15 to 13d20, in order to get 13d20 you needed to use iTunes.







    please see
    https://theoverspill.wordpress.com/...piracy-and-rock-hard-security/comment-page-1/

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205628
     
  8. beast1989 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    #8
    My tech knowledge is incredibly limited, so I want to clarify a few things I read in the articles.

    In the first article (about 1/3 of the way into it) there is a subsection titled "How Can You Recover From Error 53". It says you can avoid the issue by swapping in the original TouchID processor. Is that true?

    In the 2nd link by Apple it appears that I can fix the error if it occurs no matter what version I'm running. Is that correct?
     

Share This Page