Swapping SIM between iPads

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by sovereign, Apr 12, 2019.

  1. sovereign, Apr 12, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2019

    sovereign macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #1
    I received a Mini 5 yesterday. I would like to be able to use the SIM from my iPad Air 2 with it but it is not being recognized. After powering down both devices, swapping the SIM to the Mini, and powering both devices back up, the Mini will only show the SELECT CARRIER option under cellular settings. The SIM card is an Apple SIM which is activated on an AT&T family account (postpaid).
     
  2. sovereign thread starter macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #2
    This Apple SIM is over 4 years old. Is an Apple SIM this old incompatible with the new Mini? Do I have a defective SIM slot on a brand new iPad? Do I really have to call Apple? Anyone?:)
     
  3. sovereign thread starter macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #3
    I called Apple a couple of weeks ago. They are clueless. Does anyone swap SIMs between iPads or have any experience with swapping an old SIM into a new iPad?
     
  4. RayB4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Location:
    South Woodham Ferrers, Essex, UK
    #4
    Hi Sovereign, I swapped my old SIM from my iPad Air from 2014 to my 6th Gen which I got last Autumn.
    Also the SIM from my iPhone 5c went into the SE I got three years later all without a hitch. My wife as well, her SIM has been in a Galaxy, a iPhone 5s and her current SE, again with no problems.
    The carrier we use here in the UK is EE.
     
  5. Davidalan macrumors newbie

    Davidalan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #5
    When I tried to sim swap from my wife’s iPad Pro 9.7 gen 1 to her new iPad Pro 11 inch it would not activate or allow me to activate via settings. I called AT&T and over the phone they activated the same number once they had the info from the sim they activated it. On my iPad Pro gen 3 12.9 I activated a new at&t sim via settings app after setting it up. I then used the at&t app to delete the old iPad Pro gen 2 from my account. This was not an option that I could use for my wife’s iPad Pro because of the number of units on my account.
     
  6. sovereign thread starter macrumors 6502

    sovereign

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #6

    Once you have activated an old sim in a new iPad have you tried to swap it back to the old iPad? Do you have to try to activate it in settings again or does it just power up and recognize? Or are the days of simple SIM swapping over?
     

Share This Page

5 April 12, 2019