Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

joaogfmoreira

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 24, 2015
// Realised this is probably not the right seccion for this problem. Couldn´t move it to "Programming" tho //

Hello all!

I know this is a topic which has been discussed quite a lot lately. Still I haven't come up with an answer.

I recently started learning Objective-C (through C first). I'm not new to programming, since i have learned VB and PHP at school. But i found that Apple recently released Swift and i wanted to know if Obj-C is still worth learning.
I have been reading Objective-C Programming by The Big Nerd Ranch.

Thanks guys!

grandM

macrumors 68000
Oct 14, 2013
// Realised this is probably not the right seccion for this problem. Couldn´t move it to "Programming" tho //

Hello all!

I know this is a topic which has been discussed quite a lot lately. Still I haven't come up with an answer.

I recently started learning Objective-C (through C first). I'm not new to programming, since i have learned VB and PHP at school. But i found that Apple recently released Swift and i wanted to know if Obj-C is still worth learning.
I have been reading Objective-C Programming by The Big Nerd Ranch.

Thanks guys!
Over 70 % of the users switched to iOS 8. Objective-C is handy if you want to work for a firm. Most code is still in objective-C. New code however will be moving to swift very fast. As swift and objective-C differ a lot, I'd go swift. I myself just moved to swift myself. What course will you be taking?

joaogfmoreira

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 24, 2015
Over 70 % of the users switched to iOS 8. Objective-C is handy if you want to work for a firm. Most code is still in objective-C. New code however will be moving to swift very fast. As swift and objective-C differ a lot, I'd go swift. I myself just moved to swift myself. What course will you be taking?

Thank you for the reply!