Swiftkey keyboard app

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Indecisi0n, Sep 21, 2014.

  1. Indecisi0n macrumors regular

    Indecisi0n

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #1
    Not sure if this is the correct section but here goes.

    I love the swiftkey keyboard app but I think there is a bug and would like to confirm this if I can. With the swiftkey board installed and running I noticed that if I receive a text where there's a lengthy conversation the message does not open at the most recent text but rather further up in the message forcing me to have to scroll down I read the message that was sent. This doesn't happen when I disable the swiftkey keyboard. Anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. danyull macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #2
    lol, I was about to post this also. My swiftkey keyboard does the same thing, I'm sure they know about the bug.
     
  3. benasdf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #3
    Ugh yes. Had the same issue with Swype which made me think its more of an iOS 8 issue...or the developers just happened to have the same bug in their product.

    In general 3rd party keyboard functionality is very buggy...not sure if its the app or iOS but its disappointing.
     
  4. Indecisi0n thread starter macrumors regular

    Indecisi0n

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #4
    Ok glad I'm not just going crazy. Thanks. Ashame because I love the layout but am not scrolling down every text.
     
  5. Mindbender14 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #5
    Glad someone else is having the same issues.

    It's just overall glitchy and buggy for me. Several times I've had to restart apps to get the swiftkey keyboard to reappear, or the typing is slow, or it doesn't recognize the flow/Swype. Of course when I switch to the apple keyboard the stock keyboard works fine. :confused:

    When it works well it's sweet.
     
  6. haticK macrumors 6502a

    haticK

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Known issue. Swiftkey is blaming it on Apple. These keyboards still need a lot of work.
     
  7. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #7
    I had this with the stock iOS keyboard too, I did install Swype but wasn't using it
     
  8. elisamal428 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #8
    I am glad I found this. I thought I was going crazy lol.
    It is disappointing that the third party keyboards have so many bugs. I am an Android convert and one of the reasons I was excited to switch back to iPhone was the ability to use swiftkey. Hopefully it will get worked out!
     
  9. bigjnyc macrumors 603

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #9
    I'm having the same issue. I really hope they release an update soon to fix this glitch because other than that I was loving using the keyboard. Had to remove it though because this bug got pretty annoying.
     
  10. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #10
    I'm actually finding the stock keyboard to be quite glitchy in iOS 8. I would imagine this is tied to the availability of third party keyboards. It seems the keyboard now loads separately to the app, which means sometimes it can fail to load, or take some time to load if switching between apps. I am having this issue on both a 5S and a 6.
     
  11. andyACEcandy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #11
    Glad I found this. I was having a text convo with someone tonight, and kept having to scroll down to read the most recent messages. ANNOYING but I love the Swiftkey keyboard over stock.

    Hmmmmmm
     
  12. bigjnyc macrumors 603

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #12
    I wonder if this iOS 8.0.1 release will fix these issues or if the individual developers have to release an update with bug fixes.
     
  13. andyACEcandy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #13
    If it is an issue with the stock keyboard, then maybe 8.0.1 would fix it... but I doubt they'd release any fix for a thirdparty keyboard app haha. That would be for the original developers to fix.
     

Share This Page