Switched 2011 MBA 13in for 11in

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by law0915, Aug 3, 2011.

1. law0915 macrumors member

Hi All,
    First post! I thought I'd share my experience. I am new to OS X since I bought my maxed out 27in iMac [toshiba 256GB ssd :(] I purchased the 13in the day they came out in Arizona. I initially was going into it determined to get the 11in, but when I was in the store I thought it was too small. I was very satisfied with the 13in. samsung drive and display/128BG/1.7GHz/4GB but was turned on to the 11.6" from my friend who loves is 11.6" netbook. He's a pilot and suggested I should try it out. I went into the store and exchanged it for the 11.6"/128GB/1.6GHz. I couldn't be more happier. I love Lion on it and the screen size with the full screen apps and smart zoom is just wonderful. I told the sales rep into it that I would not be happy if I didn't get the faster Samsung drive and would return it if I didn't get it... so after I purchased it we opened it up and I had the Samsung drive and display. Everything is great and I have no complaints. It's plays 1080p mkv files flawlessly. At first I was worried about the smart zoom on a Facebook picture as it was laggy when I zoomed in and was scrolling around it viewing different parts of the image, but the next day I tried a high res photo off the net 1600p and it was just fine. I was reading macrumors constantly and stressed about not getting the Samsung drive for about 4 hours all over nothing! If you're trying to decide, the 1.6GHz/4GB/128GB 11" model is the winner!! I was concerned about the resolution as text looks a bit pixelated, but either I'm used to it or I was just trying to pick out something wrong with it. Anyways, this kills my friends netbook with an AMD, YES AMD processor that he paid $300 for LOL. Someone on here also turned me on to the 11" as they said, the 13in is just a thin laptop and the 11" is a truly mobile laptop. Go with the 11.6" especially if it is a secondary dev