Switched hard drive.. now starts with a grey screen, Pls help.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jdaniel, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #1
    hi guys,
    I was having hdd issues to I switched to my back up drive (i used superduper to back up) so it is supposed to be an exact clone, now that clone is in the mac but when I start up it has a grey screen does not have the login photo or name... just an area to enter my user name manually and password can someone help me make this 'normal' ?

    Thanks
     
  2. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  3. SgtPepper23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #3
    can you provide a picture of the login screen?
    seems like a reinstall would be the best solution
     
  4. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    Here it is let me know thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    Just go to System Preferences -> Users and Groups.

    Under login options, make sure 'display login window as list of users' is checked.
     
  6. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #6
    Ah ok, it wasn't I'll check it and try it out again later, most prob solved it. Thanks guys
     

Share This Page