Switcher - 1 month down - forever to go..

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macabouttobe, Dec 31, 2007.

  1. macabouttobe macrumors regular

    macabouttobe

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Okay, before I change my username I figured I would take a moment to express how satisfied I've been with my 24" 2.8, 3GB ram (2GB easily user installed) iMAC. I am of the feeling satisified iMAC owners quietly go along with their business and the people with problems seem to be the squeakiest wheels.

    I've been skimming these boards for well over a year as I agonized about a purchase. My delay in purchase was 2 fold. 1) was first a function of waiting for the best configuration - Rumors that Apple was going to move to Intel... Rumors of a re-designed iMac.. Rumors/Delays of the new operating system.. 2) Delayed a few more months, and almost backed out completely based on these boards and the exhausting Dead Pixal rants, Glossy Screen, Backlight bleed... posts - nearly talked me out of it. Although I think it's wise to wait a while on any new platform lauch for the kinks to work out, the ratio of negative to positive reviews was huge.

    I've been a computer hobbiest all of my life, and am used to DOS prompts and micromanaging/ customizing pretty much every aspect of my PC's. It was a leap of faith that OSX was everything that was promised. Although not perfect (what is?) I find it extremely intuitive and the few nuances there are were picked up fairly easily. Probably one of my biggest adjustment was that the files (pics,music, videos) were "There somewhere" and I didn't need to structure my folders/subfolders/directorytree in such a fashion that made sense to whatever software was using it - but structure things/folders by what worked for me.

    Another hobby of mine is editing home videos for sharing amongst family and friends. I have to air a little frustration about the 600meg of AVI files that Pinnacle (PC video program) imported over the years that seem basically worthless right now to my MAC. I understand there are converters, or I may just re-import my movies from the original tapes - but either way I know there is a solution that I will eventually get to... I use Final Cut Express and final burn with iDVD. Steep learning curve in FCE, but reading the manual (a must) and pinging various user groups I'm bumping along fairly well. The performance of the iMAC is impressive rarely seeing a beach ball, rendering speeds are great, multitasking not a problem. Looking forward to seeing what "Spaces" can do for me.

    I have downloaded the trial version VMwares Fusion. One of the reasons I wanted to move to a MAC - the ability to run XP whenever I needed to. So after 3 weeks, I spent the most time installing XP - Not a function of Fusion whatsoever, but a function of my version of XP is SP1 and about 200gajillion megs of upgrades and countless virtual reboots. Anyway to my suprise, I haven't had any reason to run XP at all, other than to show my Father-in-law how cool it is that you can do it.. Maybe a reason will pop up somewhere, but I'll probably let my trial period expire in the meanwhile.

    Now about the unit itself - No Dead Pixals. No Freezes. Backlight Bleed/Color shift? I don't know. I haven't noticed. When I opened a full screen white page and I stared, I did notice one area seemed brighter than another. I have never noticed it unless it was the 1 time I actually dug for it. Glossy Screen? I have 3 windows to the right of the screen that go along my right shoulder.. A room over more windows. While my machine is running I don't have any glare issues whatsoever. Had to turn the brightness down, and found that Adobe's RGB profile was most pleasing. My photographs don't print out as brilliant as they look on the screen, so people making a living on photography should take note and take the time to calibrate further..

    Did my family's Christmas cards in iPhoto in a matter of about an hour. Ordered them online and got to my house in 4 business days. Can't wait to do a book of our summer vacations by the lake.

    I don't use Safari because Firefox let's me view some more windows-based videos (i.e. msnbc.com..). I have to run Firefox in Rosetta mode (or whatever it is called in options) because my kids like to run shockwave games at their kid's websites.. Seems slower to load Firefox now in OSX than it is to load websites into Explorer in VM Fusion. I'm sure this will pass in time..

    Forgot to add, .mac is pretty cool. When I take pics of say a holiday gathering - I use iPhoto to put them online and I send an email out to family with the URL (password protected) so they can download whatever they want. Also haven't had a use yet for Time Machine, but I'm sure I will someday. Really awesome and easy way to backup.

    I'm an extremely satisified iMAC owner and find myself slowly turning into an apple evangelist converting folks... Looking forward to being a productive member of this board as my knowledge increases.


    Thanks for listening.
     
  2. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #2
    Try installing Perian to allow your AVI files to be imported. It would depend largely on the codec Pinacle used to encode the video, but Perian would be a start - at the very least to allow the AVI to DV transcode to work...

    I too am a recent switcher and video has been a bit of a sticking point, but I am now satified with the way the Mac works.

    PM me if you have any specific questions - happy to help.
     
  3. thesdx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #3
    By the way, your signature says that your iMac has 3MB RAM. :p
     
  4. amiga macrumors 6502

    amiga

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Location:
    London.
  5. macabouttobe thread starter macrumors regular

    macabouttobe

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    I ordered from Apple.com the standard 24" iMAC and upgraded the cpu to 2.8ghz, upgraded the hard-drive to 500meg, and kept the order at 1meg ram.

    I then went to Crucial.Com and ordered a single 2 gig stick to save a little money on RAM. So I have the original 1gig stick in one slot and a user installed 2 gig stick in the second ram slot.

    Good catch!
     
  6. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #6
    Please check your PMs (Private Messages), thanks.
     
  7. AutumnSkyline macrumors regular

    AutumnSkyline

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #7
    sorry to be picky, but could you please use the capitals how Apple uses them? MAC doesn't stand for anything, could you please use Mac? as in iMac. The iProducts have the lowercase i, then uppercase after letter. The next word is always lower case: iPod touch. I'm glad you are enjoying your Mac experience.
     
  8. macabouttobe thread starter macrumors regular

    macabouttobe

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Thanks for apologizing about being picky, but I will duly note and use iMac appropriately. I have seen other posts with the same correction, but it doesn't sink in until it hits you directly.
     
  9. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #9
    Congragts! And welcome to the light side! Good move on your waiting game - I was right with you doing every single zig and zag wait right with you for my new iMac. I feel like we bought at the perfect time: new iMac, new OS X, new iLife, right at the very early stages of their upgrade cycles all at the same time. Nice.

    VisualHub is a nice codec converter. It costs like $25, but it is soooo easy to use, and you can download a free trial and test your AVIs first to make sure they work.

    FCE is a steep learning curve. I find it the most useful for editing multi-camera work. For single camera work, give iMovie '08 a serious look. Some are put off by the new interface, but personally I have found it to be quite a productivity boost and able to do all of the editing features that I need (and did I say it makes editing fast!)

    Totally agree with you on the file management! It is a bit of a leap to let the Mac take over, especially coming from the Windows world you not only have total control over managing the files, you have to do some file management. With iLife, you can let the Apps do all of the file management, and just sit back and relax and focus on your content. Good for you making that leap! I'm betting that alone will give you quite a boost in productivity in editing and managing your content. Just an FYI: there are easy ways to get the files and manipulate them easily in iPhoto, iTunes, and iMovie. If you need to do it, just post the specific application here, and you will get lots of help.

    Enjoy the new iMac, and the Mac way of doing things!
     
  10. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #10
  11. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #11
    Actually, MAC stands for Media Access Control, which is a bit like an internal static IP address but used for different functions.
     
  12. mpaar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #12
    Nice to hear your positive comments . . . I plan to buy this Summer 2008

    macwanttobe,

    It really is nice to hear the positive points.

    Thanks,
    mikey
     
  13. Tuta macrumors member

    Tuta

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #13
    very nice post -- looking forward to taking receipt of my first apple computer since the ][e tomorrow (assuming FedEx site is correct)....

    I went ahead and got a refurb 24" iMac unit -- I have put the apple users I know on notice for quick help as the weeks roll along...
     
  14. AutumnSkyline macrumors regular

    AutumnSkyline

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #14
    lol now you're being picky ;) I had heard of a MAC address and i knew it had something to do with the internet wireless routers and such, thanks for clarifying, and sorry for the confusion on my part, i was talking about how MAC doesn't mean anything apple products-wise :D good day!
     
  15. AutumnSkyline macrumors regular

    AutumnSkyline

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #15
    Thank you for taking this in a good way, some people would have acted a little upset, not here to upset, just to help!
     
  16. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #16
    Reminds me of this article

    Sorry not trying to be a troll....
     
  17. sgunning macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Gold Coast Australia
    #17
    Firefox or Safari for Shockwave install?

    Read this with interest as I am have just purchased my iMac and was keen to download Windows XP but after almost a week I see no reason. There is just one thing I need and that is Adobe Shockwave for a program that I use through my work. I have just read that I need to run Safari or Firefox through Rosetta Emulation mode and I have the instructions. I note that you said you have a preference for Firefox over Safari - would you like to elaborate on why?

    Thanks

    Susanne
     

Share This Page