Switcher: Questions/Comments

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by denizzziz13, Jul 2, 2008.

1. denizzziz13 macrumors member

I just got a white MacBook yesterday after using Dell PC's for as long as I can remember. I just have a few questions and comments: (yeah, I'm a noob...)

First, it's just a beautiful looking machine. IMO, the pictures on the Apple site make it look nice but really do it no justice after seeing one.

It came with a soft black thing that I think is a cloth but is it?

Is the battery meter on the top bar fairly accurate? Life if it says I have 1 hr 45 minutes left, can I count on that being correct?

Expose is awesome...as a matter of fact, the whole OS is just easy to use in general.

I downloaded iStat Pro and have in on the dashboard but I'm still trying to make sense of most of it...my biggest question is: What is an average temperature/range of temps. for those things to be at? At what temps should I be concerned?

Is there a keystroke or anything to just minimize all of the windows and sow the desktop?

2. fleshman03 macrumors 68000

fleshman03

1) It's for cleaning. Does a good job of it too.

2) It's been pretty accurate for me. Much better than the meter on vista or xp.

3) Someone else has to help you with that. I have a MacBook Pro so I'm not really sure, but mine runs around 45c-50c for web surfing and 65c-70c for video encoding.

4) FN + f11. You can actually give it corners on the screen if you want. Just take a look in system preferences-> expose & spaces. Look the top and make sure expose is blued out.

3. Andrew Henry macrumors 6502a

1. Microfiber cloth, to clean dust etc.

2. I find that my battery meter is very accurate.

3. I don't have a macbook so i can't tell you the temps, I have a MBP and it's sitting at 39C right now.

4. Not sure about the keystroke

Welcome to Mac! I'm a recent switcher, it's very addicting. (check out my sig line)

4. denizzziz13 thread starter macrumors member