Switching between apps

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ryans79, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. ryans79 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #1
    Hi!

    Is there a way to switch between apps?

    This is what i am trying, i am installing an app but its taking ages to decompress, and the screen locks up (its set to lock in 3 minutes), but if i press the home button and go into settings->general->(etc) and change the setting to 5 mins or 'never' then i come back to installing the app... it starts up from the beginning :(

    on my nokia 5800 i just press and hold the home button and i can switch between open applications, but i cant seem to do that here :(

    Am on a 3Gs running 3.0 (jailbroken)

    °°
     
  2. neil1980 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
  3. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #3
    Thank you, will try that, can you recommend any others, i am totally new to this and have no idea which ones to get.
     
  4. Pgohlke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Centerville, Ohio
    #4
    By decompressing do you mean installing apps from installous? And just tap the screen every once and a while to make sure the screen doesn't dim or turn off. I find this a lot easier then having it set to turn off in 5 min.
     
  5. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #5
    Thats what i did in the end, but for a 1.7gb file, it sure took its time.

    For all the raving of the iphone, i really prefer my nokia 5800 in many aspects, some thins on the nokia are just more user friendly and easier/more logical to do and use.
     
  6. kate-willbury macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009

Share This Page