Switching between Ethernet, Airport

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tidu, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. tidu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #1
    I tried searching for this, but it's hard to get a phrase for this "problem" I'm having.

    I just moved into college. When I'm in my dorm room, I connect to the internet using an ethernet cord. Other times I'll connect to the wireless college network (it's all over) when I'm outside my dorm. The problem is that My Wireless stays on when I'm in my dorm connected to ethernet, and slows down the computer. So I have to turn it off, go into network settings, and it takes a minute or two to recognize that an ethernet cord is connected and to utilize it.

    Is there a work around for this, or maybe an app that will switch locations for me automatically if it recognizes an ethernet connection, and turn on airport when the ethernet is disconnected? thanks
     
  2. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #2
    This is interesting. I was under the impression that even if your connected to the wireless network if you plug in an ethernet cable the faster network would preceed the other.
    If thats not the case switching off the wireless after you connect the ethernet cable is waht I would do.
     
  3. tidu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #3
    well, what happens is I usually have the computer off from being on airport, plug in the power/usb mouse/ethernet cable once I sit at my desk, and turn on the computer with airport still on. When I turn it off, for some reason the connection isn't recognized for a couple minutes. I'll play around with it some more but that is what I've experienced so far.
     
  4. CavesOfTQLT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Try System Preferences>Network>Show: Network Port Configurations and adjust the selections so ethernet is at the top followed by airport, etc. Worth a shot.
     
  5. tidu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #5
    hm it's strange, I messed around with it a little more and it seems to be working fine. If I have airport on, and plug in the ethernet, I lose connection for only a little bit now (ichat disconnects and reconnects) but it doesn't seem to be painfully slowing down like before... thanks anyway!
     

Share This Page