Switching between Mac and PC

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by loss4words, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. loss4words macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I'm considering buying my first iMac and I'm in need of a little bit of help. I want to be able to switch between my PC and the Mac using only the iMac screen as the only display. I could just use remote desktop app to switch between the two but is there a better solution for this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    The only way to do this would be to buy a TV tuner for the iMac and plug the PC in like that.

    The video ports are only out, not in.
     
  3. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    I use Fusion VMWare and love it. In my opinion it's better than Parallels.
     
  4. lag1090 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    You can set-up VNC on your PC and access it via the Screen Sharing app.

    In Finder, select the Go menu, then Connect to server.

    Enter vnc:// then the PC's IP address.

    Example: vnc://127.0.0.1

    It'll be a little laggy, but it should work well enough.
     
  5. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #5
    Woah thats pretty cool that OSX has this built in viewer. I find however running VNC viewer much better and less lag.
     
  6. lag1090 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    Truly depends on the circumstances.

    Mac-Mac connections are better with Screen Sharing, Mac-PC are sometimes better with VNC viewer.
     
  7. ian.maffett macrumors 6502

    ian.maffett

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #7

Share This Page