Switching between two Mac OSes

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mitcherooney, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. Mitcherooney macrumors newbie

    Mitcherooney

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #1
    Greetings

    I have partitioned my HD ad I have Mavericks and Sierra installed. I understand that if I want to change the OS in use, I have to shut down the machine and on switching back on, I have to hold down the Option key. But for how long? It seems that nothing happens so I let go. A little while after that a progress bar appears and finally returns me to Sierra (the OS that I was using when I shut down)

    Any advice welcome. Thanks Mitch
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors Core

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  3. Mitcherooney thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mitcherooney

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #3
    Hi I partioned the HD in the normal way and installed Sierra on the new partition. I should point out that the option to choose which OS to use was available on one occasion but now when I hold down the option key immediately on switching on, All I have is a white screen. As I mentioned on letting go I get the progress bar and Sierra launches....?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2018 ---
    Handsome animal, that dog of yours. Super temperament, bulldogs
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors Core

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Are you able to go into System Preferences > StartUp Disk and see both options?
     
  5. Mitcherooney thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mitcherooney

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
  6. MacDawg macrumors Core

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    According to this, you are booting into Sierra on reboots, as you stated
    Can you click on the lock at the bottom, enter your Admin password and select the Macintosh HD icon and try to restart?
     
  7. Mitcherooney thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mitcherooney

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #7
    Yes, that worked fine - it launched into Mavericks ... what do I need to do to have the option of which OS to use on startup (i.e. if I come back to the machine the next day?)
     
  8. bcubed9, Feb 13, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018

    bcubed9 macrumors newbie

    bcubed9

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Location:
    P-Town, USA
    #8
  9. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #9
    Hold down the option key LONGER.
    If -- after about 45 seconds -- you still don't see the startup manager appear, well... then I'd guess something's wrong.

    Hmmm.... one other, and possibly relevant, question:
    Are you using a WIRELESS keyboard?
    If so, you might need to try a WIRED keyboard instead.

    There's nothing wrong with "switch booting" from one version of the OS to another.
    However in my experience, this works better if you keep the different OS versions on SEPARATE drives...
     

Share This Page

8 February 12, 2018