Switching DSL modems

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lear, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. lear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    #1
    I would like to switch my DSL modem. I have verizon dsl. Right now, my current modem is connected to an ethernet hub to which my computers are connected. How can I switch to a different modem with the greatest ease?

    (The reason for switching is to use a modem with built in wireless.)
     
  2. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    Why not just get a wireless router instead? Probably easier. And I don't trust those modem+router devices, they never seem to work as good.
     
  3. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    I've been using a Netgear modem/router for three years now without any problems. :) :)

    FJ
     
  4. lear thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    #4
    Would it be possible for me to plug the wireless modem into my router and use it as a wireless router?
     
  5. savanahrose macrumors 6502a

    savanahrose

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    greer SC
    #5
    no problem here

    I just had to do that with my Bellsouth DSL. I didn't have any problems what so ever. I hope you got it
     

Share This Page