Switching/Format PC 2 Mac

Discussion in 'iPod' started by GovtLawyer, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. GovtLawyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #1
    I just made my switch from PC to Mac. I have an 80GB iPod, last year's model. I copied all my music files to the external drive and copied them to the music folder. I started Tunes, and Voila, same library as before. I plugged in my iPod asnd was asked if I wanted it syncrohnized to the Mac, and I said yes.

    So, everything seems ok. Why is my Mac still formatted for windows? Since everything works, does it really matter?
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    You mean your ipod is still formatted for Windows? That's fine.
     
  3. GovtLawyer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #3
    Why is that?

    Yes, I meant my iPod was still formatted for Mac. Why would that be? Why doesn't it matter? Seems to me that there was some importance in formatting it for the right OS. So, I'm surprised a windows formatted iPod works on a Mac.

    Is there anything I'm missing? Will it update properly?
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    I believe that you need to change the formatting for updates.
     
  5. GovtLawyer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #5
    Reformatting iPod - How & Why?

    How would I do that? Would this require that I then resync my iPod to iTunes, and copy 3800 songs all over again? What's the upside to this and the downside to not reformatting?
     

Share This Page