Switching from iCloud calendar to Google calendar backend

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by TRICKorDEVICE, Feb 8, 2019.

1. TRICKorDEVICE macrumors 6502a

Has anyone made the switch from using iCloud calendar to Google calendar? I’m considering doing this but wanted to see if there were any features on iOS that would be crippled by switching which service handles the backend.

I’ve been using iCloud for the past five years for calendar syncing. But Google smarts have just become really alluring for me to make the switch. For example I recently had A flight itinerary mailed to me. When it got to my inbox iPhone/iOS did nothing with the dates. But when I checked my Google calendar it automatically added the flights to the calendar. These are the kinds of features that I am currently missing with iCloud/iPhone.

Are there any features of iPhone that won’t work correctly if I change the syncing service? Such as time to leave, being able to click on locations in the native app and open the Apple Maps, Showing next location in the maps widget on iPhone.

Any experiences you can share are appreciated

2. scmill macrumors member

scmill

I’ve used the Google calendar instead of the iCloud calendar for the last couple of years. I haven’t noticed anything not working. I get all the notifications whether I manually enter them, import them from email (think dr appt notices) or are imported automatically from our family’s Cozi calendar.

3. TRICKorDEVICE thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks for the input. Do the locations work correctly for calendar input?

4. scmill macrumors member

scmill

Not sure what you mean. If I give an address, it puts a little map. Is that what you mean?

5. TRICKorDEVICE thread starter macrumors 6502a

Yes! And does it show up in the next location widget?

6. TRICKorDEVICE thread starter macrumors 6502a