Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hoaxcoder

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2009
Hi,

I am a currently PC user but I am getting tired of it. I am a professional photographer and I work a lot with Photoshop. I am planning to buy a Macbook Pro this week for this Christmas season. I will use the computer with a program that runs only in Windows and is about photo management and so on, the laptop will be running from morning to night working with photos and sending them to a local printer. The location will be a Mall so that's why I decide that a Macbook is better to transport. I want to know what is the best option for me at this moment because I have to order the computer this week. I think that with a 15" will be good but what about the other components? And finally I want to know the best software to run Windows on a Mac because that is one of the things that I am more worried because the software works only on Windows, any problem with that? Please answer me as soon as possible and thanks a lot for your response.

Thanks,
Luis

r.j.s

Moderator emeritus
Mar 7, 2007
Texas
If you will be running this software all day and the software only works on Windows, why get a Mac?

What software is it? There may be a Mac version of something similar.

Badger^2

macrumors 68000
Oct 29, 2009
Sacramento
if you are only gonna run windows on it...

Then why bother with a MBP?

Sounds like a nice windows machine of any flavor with Windows 7 would be more than perfect?

Is there some other reason you want a MBP?

hoaxcoder

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2009
I am gonna run windows on it for this month and for that software only, but later on I will continue to use the Mac OS to work with Photoshop and so on.

Badger^2

macrumors 68000
Oct 29, 2009
Sacramento
then get the most you can afford.

too bad you cant wait a couple of months -- new MBPs most likely out in January

EndlessMac