Switching from Windows to Mac!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by petscheb, Feb 8, 2010.

1. petscheb macrumors newbie

I have little to no knowledge of the compatibility of the Macmini to a PC. I currently own a 4 yr old HP Pavilion. There's not much wrong with it, it's slowed a little, but my husband and I have been wanting a Mac. We saw the Mac mini and like what we see, but we don't want to have to buy a new printer and monitor when both work perfectly. The monitor is an HP vs15 and the printer is a HP Photosmart USB. Will these work if we buy the Mac mini?

2. Bacong macrumors 68000

Bacong

Congrats on your choice.

You posted at the right time, as I have just recently purchased a new Mac mini myself.

Your monitor and printer should work just fine. If it's USB, it'll work.

As for the monitor, I'm guessing it doesn't have a DVI input on the back, as it looks old. As for that, you'll need to purchase:

http://store.apple.com/us/product/M9320G/A

to get video output. I bought that along with my computer and it works just fine.

Good luck making the switch! We'll be here to answer any other questions :D

3. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

4. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-

Contrary to the other posters, I found this:

http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ap...macbook-strange-external-display-problem.html

It's not for a mac mini, but the poster had issues with that monitor working. I searched on: Mac, mini, and "HP vs15."

Here's another:

5. localoid macrumors 68020

localoid

According to what I could find online, your HP vs15 monitor is a 15" LED monitor with VGA input capable of a max. resolution of 1024 x 768. There's no reason I can think of this monitor would not work with Mini provided you use the right adapter.

6. Gregg2 macrumors 603

I had an HP monitor I used with my old Mac, and with my newer Mini and it worked just fine. It was starting to wear out, so I replaced it. It was an mx 705 though.

7. petscheb thread starter macrumors newbie