Switching graphics chips on newest MBP modles (late 08)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dragonlance1561, May 5, 2009.

  1. Dragonlance1561 macrumors member

    Dragonlance1561

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone has heard anything about apple making it possible to switch chips without having to log off?
    It's a real pain since you have to close everything. I end up just running mine with the 9600M all the time because when I remember to switch it I have 3 apps open already and don't want to close them just to change the graphics.
     
  2. Kronie macrumors 6502a

    Kronie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
  3. designgeek macrumors 65816

    designgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    "Town"
    #3
    As I understand when you switch it has to completely change the way the logic board functions so that necessitates logging off. When I first got mine I figured I would either be able to hot switch them or completely restart, logging off is kind of strange.
     
  4. magamo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #4
    Yeah, it's not the most convenient way. But to be honest, I don't notice any difference in performance between the two graphic chips, so I always forget which one I'm using now.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    The hope is that with the arrival of Snow Leopard we'll be able to switch GPUs on the fly (without logging out) Other then that hope, there' only one option - get used to it as the other poster put it.

    I don't switch my GPU that often, It will stay on the 9400 if I think I'll be going mobile and it will stay on that for a long time, until I feel like logging out and then when I do its back on the 9600m.

    One thing I found, is the MBP runs maybe about 10c hotter with the 9600m and so if I don't need/want the extra horse power the discreet GPU brings, I'll keep it on the 9400 just to keep the temps down.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Sure when they decide to write drivers with Hydrid SLI (and then you don't get a choice since the computer will auto-choose and decide which one to use).
     
  7. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    I use the 9600 unless I am on battery only.

    Not hard for me to know when to swap.
     
  8. PDE macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    #8
    Unless I really need power, I just use the 9400. It provides great battery life and less heat generation. Would be nice if I didn't need to log out, but it's not really a big nuisance unless you need to switch between the two all the time.
     

Share This Page