Switching hard drives

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacDale, May 2, 2007.

  1. MacDale macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Got a Mac Pro in late March. Just bought a 500gig Hard drive and was wondering if I should change my new drive to my primary drive and make the 250 gig that came with a secondary drive? Home much work would this be?

    Using back up from .mac would this make restoring fairly easy?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    .Mac may help but before we get into the nitty gritty stuff, why do you want to do this? It might be better to keep the smaller drive available for your system and some files and then have the larger drive as a semi-backup plus large file database kinda thing.
     
  3. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #3
    Use the smaller faster drive (if it is indeed faster) as the boot drive and the larger drives for storage of files and media. Just use the boot drive for storing applications and the operating system.
     
  4. MacDale thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    So I'm better off sticking to the original 250 HD that came with the computer. Ok, thanks.
     
  5. andy-ch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    Beeze Shehu Makom Baolam
    #5
    Mine has 250 GB at Bay-1 (Original that came with MacPro)
    And another 500 GB at Bay-2

    I have plan formatting as RAID later ;)
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6

    Yeah, you may as well. I can't see any real benefits in changing them out.
     
  7. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #7
    RAID0 is a bad idea unless you have a very robusted and thoroughly tested back-up plan. I don't think you can RAID1 different sized drives. Just a heads up.

    Also, to the OP. I would use the 500GB as a back-up drive. This might be especially handy with Leopards upcoming Time Machine, which will might require significant hard drive space. Maybe someone else can comment on this.
     
  8. brooker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    PacNW
    #8
    You can do raid 1 with different sized drives... but the resulting volume will only have hte capacity of the smallest drive. Similarly with raid 0, the resulting volume will have only twice the capacity of the smallest drive.

    but it's worthy of a warning, nonetheless.
     
  9. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #9
    I've done what you're wanting to do.
    My Power Mac has/had a 150G. I bought a 300G.
    (video eat HD space quickly!)

    There's program called SuperDuper. It will make a bootable backup.
    Works great. I need a program like this for my PC.

    What about backups?
    I have an external 300G firewire HD. I every so often SuperDuper to it.
    If the main HD fails, I can boot off of the firewire. RUn to the store and get a replacement.
     

Share This Page