Switching Mac OSX from another language to English.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wants2tryMac, Aug 17, 2009.

1. wants2tryMac macrumors newbie

Hi guys, I need your help. I want to buy a MBP 15" pretty soon, but I've a slight problem. As I am a student, I got a fairly used macbook at a discount from a someone. However, the OS is in Hungarian. I'm new to the OS and I was wondering if there was a way I could change it to English (I know there is and I would look stupid if someone points it out to me:()
    Also, I got an iphone 3GS too. Is it possible to upgrade from Hungarian to English?
    I speak excellent English, but I study in Hungary, Europe.
    Any help or other suggestions would be highly appreciated. Thanks.:D

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Go to System Preferences (kedvezmények rendszere) -> Country (ország) -> Select language

I used Google Translator so my translations to hungarian might be wrong :p Country settings are third from the left in the top category (outfit), it's the one with the flag

3. teleromeo macrumors 65816

teleromeo

Or you could do an erase and install with the original system disks. When you start up after that you can choose your working language and you'll have a clean install.

4. wants2tryMac thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks guys.

I'll try both ways when I get the macbook pretttttty sooooooooooooooon!!!
    BTW, how about the iphone 3gs stuff? Any ideas?:confused:
    Thanks lots again guys!

5. macshill macrumors 6502

macshill