Switching out HDD for an SSD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RWil85, Aug 9, 2010.

1. RWil85 macrumors 6502a

How involved a process is it to switch out an MBP's original HDD for an SSD?

I got my 13" MBP a week or so ago and am interested in the performance enhancements users have acquired with the use of SSD's; however, since its a fresh, new MBP - i don't know how comfortable I'd be with having to wipe or reinstall an OS (or whatever it is that needs to be done - my reason for this post) as I have never done it before...thanks for the info..

2. MoLiva macrumors newbie

Switching the HDD in the Unibody MBP is a super simple process. You do need a specialty screwdriver(can't recall the name off the top of my head) to remove the bracket holding in the HDD however.

There are alot of online tutorials on how to do it (video ones are the best) and it'll take 15 minutes tops from start to finish.

The best way to do it is a fresh install in my oppinion. Backup everything you want to keep, and after your done swapping the drive, boot from the OSX install disk that came with your system and you'll be up and running in no time.

3. RWil85 thread starter macrumors 6502a

The physical switching of the drives i'm cool with..i wasn't specific enough, i'm worried more about what comes after..

so, all it would involve - would be to use the boot disk to do a fresh install of mac os x on the ssd..then take my latest backup from time machine and restore it?

4. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

frunkis54

yep thats it.

5. RWil85 thread starter macrumors 6502a

sweetness..i'm diggin' this whole mac thing.

6. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

frunkis54

you can either install fresh copy of os x then migration assistant or when you boot from the os x disk you can restore from backup.

7. mmulin macrumors 6502

Even sweeter if you have a full TM backup, you can just restore everything from that after booting from the install disc. No need to reinstall the MacOSX beforehand.