Switching Question, games on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by u26055, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. u26055 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Deigo, CA
    #1
    I've been looking at making the switch to Mac for a while now, but I can't seam to find an answer to this question: can you play Windows games on an a Mac Pro?

    I'm not a gamer, per-say, but I like to play BF2 and other "shooter" games. If I make the switch will I be able to? It sounds like bootcamp is the any why & that is fine, if it will work.

    I've read through other postings & there doesn't seam to be a definitive answer. And I'm not sure if this question can be answered, since it so new, but will DX10 games run? I don't care about frame rates, I just want it to look good and not crash.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Hi there,

    You can run games on the MP in Windows XP -no DX10- through boot-camp, no problems at all. You'll get decent enough frame rates, but as it's Windows it may well still crash like any other Windows box ;)

    Please be aware that the Mac Pro is a fabulous machine, but it isn't specifically designed for gaming- so your friends who buy generic PCs may get better gaming performance if they get a highly-specced up machine.

    Enjoy!
     
  3. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #3
    DX10 games will not run because the Mac Pro doesn't have a DX10 capable card. Some people have gotten windows only DX10 cards able to work but the last time I checked (months ago) you couldn't have that card with your normal Mac card in the box at the same time. So every reboot between windows and osx you had to physically switch cards.

    I'm pretty sure the next update the Mac Pro will have a nice DX10 capable card.....when that update comes is anyone's guess. Many people have been holding their breath for 6 months now :D
     
  4. u26055 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Deigo, CA
    #4
    I've been trying holding off after reading various threads about this, but I'm close to getting a new Windblow box, because I can't justify the prices & I'm having issue with my current box.
     
  5. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #5
    I agree. As a strictly gaming machine I can upgrade the main components of my pc (cpu, ram, motherboard, video card) for less than $900 and get a kick ass machine. It might be the more reasonable solution, but I've been holding off because I would rather just have one computer where I can run osx and windows. I'll wait until leopard and hopefully the new Mac Pros to decide which route I'm taking.
     
  6. Tracer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
  7. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #7
    I use a Mac Pro for gaming. Recent stuff includes BioShock, Supreme Commander, Oblivion etc.. all of which have run fine.

    At the time of purchase I had a old PPC Mini and a old desktop, both needed upgrading. The choice was either to buy both an iMac (for OS X) and a standard PC (for games) or a Mac Pro.

    Since the Mac Pro was not vastly more expensive than getting both a iMac and a PC and has the obvious benefit that you get a quad cord machine into the deal which improves both the iMac and PC experience, it seemed like the best option.

    This was ordered about 2 days after the original release, now I'd be tempted to wait for a faster video card and upgraded processors before taking the plunge.
     
  8. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #8
    Yeah, I agree. I'm going to buy a Mac Pro for design. It was a toss up between it or a macbook pro. I felt that the portability wasn't something I'd get the benefit of over the power trade off. I really like games as well but have a 360 for that. I imagine I'll use the Mac Pro for some "PC only" type games like RTSs and RPGs. Otherwise I'd not bother with games on it. Even If I can get the best card with the new Pro I have a feeling that within a year it'll be left behind with nothing to replace it with from Apple.
     
  9. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #9
    No thanks. If we want to game on a Mac Pro we'll do just that. Feel free to limit yourself to a 360. I'm sure in between the red light of death, freezes and scratched discs you can get a game or two in :D

    I own one of these horrible products so I'm ranting from experience!!!
     
  10. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #10
    :rolleyes:

    thanks4nothing
     

Share This Page