Switching RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tabasco70, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. tabasco70 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    Hi guys,
    Is it possible to switch RAM between two Macbooks? One is 2GB and the other is 4GB. They are both the same model (Macbook, 2008 1st generation unibody)
    Thanks.
    I was just wondering about complications with data stored on the RAM.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Yes, it is. One uses two 2GB modules, the other uses two 1GB modules, all four of them are the same type of RAM.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    RAM is reseted every time you shut down the machine, so yes, you can swap the RAM between them
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    If they're identical, there's no problem. Since you have to shut down both to swap RAM, nothing will be stored on the RAM.
     

Share This Page