Switching SIM cards between 5s and 6 plus

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by B.A.T, Apr 21, 2017.

  1. B.A.T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #1
    Is it possible to use the same SIM card between two phones (both from T-mobile). I want to use the 5s when I run in the hills so my wife can track me and I can use it if an emergency should happen. Is it as simple as installing the sim in the 5s and I'm good to go?
     
  2. ramram55 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #2
    There is link between sim card and phone Imei number, not so simple, unless someone can find a way.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Yes. It is that simple. Go ahead.
    Not sure which carrier you may be thinking about, but it really is as simple on T-Mobile as OP asks.

    I've shuffled my own T-Mob SIMs around between an iPad an iPhone 6s+ and an unlocked Sprint iPhone 5. The iPhone 5 is supposed to have been bound to Sprint's SIM card but turns out that can be broken.
     
  4. B.A.T thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #4
    That's great news thank you. Co-worker is giving me his old 5s next week so it will be great to be able to use it as needed.
     
  5. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    When I upgraded from iPhone 5 to iPhone 6,all I did was to move the sim from old phone to new,but then both phones where locked to the same operator.
     
  6. nburwell macrumors 68040

    nburwell

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    PHL
    #6
    @eyoungren post is on point. I switch SIM cards between my SE, 6s Plus and 7 regularly with no issues on T-Mobile. It really is as simple as popping out our SIM in device A and inserting it in device B.
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    Make sure it's either (a) unlocked or (b) a T-Mobile device that has been paid off. Otherwise you WILL have issues.

    I assumed in your question that we were speaking of a device already in your possession that was either unlocked or a T-Mobile device.
     
  8. B.A.T thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #8
    It's unlocked so it should be good to go
     

Share This Page