Switching Sim Cards with AT&T

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by slstein, Sep 18, 2015.

  1. slstein macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #1
    So I have a Note 5 which I love but I'd also like to get an 6s +.
    I like apples new way on selling the phone without service.
    If I buy an apple iphone will I be able to just switch the sim card from the Note 5?
    Then use whichever I feel like using?
     
  2. Lspice macrumors regular

    Lspice

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
  3. slstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #3
    That's what I thought also, but AT&T tech support told me the iphone won't work properly because the sim is set up for the android Note 5???
     
  4. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    They want you to pay the activation fee instead of doing it yourself so they tell you that, but as long as it is the same size SIM (I'm not sure what size the Note uses) it should work.
     
  5. slstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #5
    The Note 5 is now using the smaller size sim card , I understand the the 6's also use it .
    My note 4 had the larger, standard size sim.
     
  6. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    Then you'll be fine.
     
  7. Epyon790 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #7
    You can walk into an AT&T store and ask for a new SIM. Usually when I get my iPhone, the previous one trickles down the ladder of my family.
    They have never given me a hard time for a new SIM card
     
  8. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68020

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #8

    at&t tech support just want to earn money.
     
  9. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #9
    You might not be able to create a hotspot.

    That's the only thing I can think of off hand.
     
  10. Cergman macrumors 6502a

    Cergman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    my tesla
    #10
    If ATT will allow you to use mobile hotspot then you will have no problem on either phone. the aim is tied to service, and has absolutely nothing to do with the phone that it is in.
     
  11. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #11
    the only argument i have to offer about simply putting in a new sim card versus AT&T activating you is AT&T go phone.

    we have had issues with AT&T unable to unlock the phone, because the phone was not used with a previous account when we simply moved the sim card over.

    when we went to the AT&T store to formally ask that the new imei # gets put on the account, they looked at me like i was crazy

    after this was done the unlock request was immediately granted.

    prior to walking into the store i was denied 2 times, for the same reason, no activity tied to a previous AT&T account. i went to the AT&T store, made them put the imei on our account.
    that same day we submitted a new unlock request and it was granted in 2 days


    if you move the sim card over, see if you can log on to your account and see if the new imei is on your account.
    if it is, then you will get credit for using this phone on their network for an unlock in the future.


    the story about how you don't need to pay for an activation fee and you can simply move the sim card over may have consequences when its time to unlock your phone.

    ^^ this post was limited to how AT&T go phone tried several times to screw me out of an unlock and is not to meant people with postpaid service
     
  12. stephen1108 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #12
    No he's right.

    If you just take the SIM from your Note and stick it in your iPhone, you will get data and be able to make calls, but you won't be able to do FaceTime over cellular, or use Personal Hotspot regardless if you can create a hotspot on your Note 5 without issue. How do I know?

    I had the same issue myself. I purchased a Galaxy S6 in August and changed my plan over to the regular smartphone data plan thinking I wouldn't have any issues. When I went back to my iPhone I was wondering why all of a sudden I could no longer set up a personal hotspot, or use FaceTime over cellular. It took me a month before I figured out I was on the wrong plan, and I needed to be on the specific iPhone plan for those features to work. I literally just resolved this exact issue this past Tuesday.

    Long story short OP, once you pop the SIM in the iPhone, just change your plan from the regular smartphone data plan over to the iPhone data plan with VVM. It should come at no extra charge.
     
  13. slstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #13
    OK, I fully understand...
    But my original point was can I switch it back and forth without any issues.
    The sim is currently in my Note 5.
    I will use it in the 6s, what happen when I want to use the Note 5 again and place it back in there?
    Again, I want to be able to use BOTH when I feel like using one or the other?
     
  14. Nhwhazup macrumors 68000

    Nhwhazup

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #14
    I have the 6 Plus currently with ATT and want to upgrade to the new S Plus without losing my current old unlimited plan. I know I'll have to pay full price for the new phone But can I just switch my SIM card or do I need to go through ATT for activation? I don't even mind paying an activation fee but I don't want to lose my plan.

    I can do a trade in to Best Buy without a SIM card, correct?
     
  15. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #15
    I was speaking from personal experience.

    My Moto X nano-SIM can create a hot spot in the Moto X but the option is not available when that nano-SIM is put into an iPhone the nano-SIM for which allows hotspot creation.

    Both nano-SIM will create a hot spot in the Moto X.
     
  16. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #16
    I switch back and forth with no problems except those kindly described by stephen1108 in his post above.
     
  17. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #17
    whenever you think you have missing features, like wifi hotspot, visual voice mail. VolLTE for any reason, reseedng the sim card may bring them back. this has been my experience.

    turn off iPhone
    maybe wait 2 minutes
    remove sim card
    turn on iPhone
    wait for iPhone to power on fully
    wait for iPhone to unlock and come to the home screen
    wait for iPhone to say no sim

    insert sim card

    this causes the iPhone to update the sim card, and update its preferred roaming tables, and causes the sim card to tell the iPhone what stuff to turn on

    I've done this with t-mobile and missing hotspot, and verizon with missing voice mail and VoLTE and
    reseeding the sim card always brought stuff back up

    reseeding the sim card is the equivalent of picking up a cdma only verizon phone and dialing *223
     

Share This Page