Switching to 5S today from Android and traveling internationally next week.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SVTmaniac, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. SVTmaniac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #1
    Hello everyone, long time Android user here. Recently I converted my entire home over to Apple. I bought two new retina macbooks for me and my wife and a iMac for the office. I swapped my new Nexus 7 for an iPad Air and now the final piece of the puzzle is getting rid of both of our old Android phones in exchange for two new 5s.

    We are currently on Verizon and I will be staying with them, my question is that we are traveling at the end of next week to London for 5 days and then continuing on to Dubai for another 5 days before returing back to Arizona. I've traveled overseas once before with my current Droid Razr MAXX and when I did, I just popped in a local SIM card and used my phone. This worked ok but I had to trim the SIM card down because my phone uses some Micro SIM or something. Also my data would not work at all when I was there.

    I'm hoping that the 5s will work a little better when we travel next week. Will I be able to just pick up a SIM card in London and Dubai and pop it in and go? Or will I need to trim the card again like I did last time and will data work? I want to be able to pull up google maps and stuff while I'm there so that I don't get lost walking around.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. revenent macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #2
    When i travel, i usually just request for a Nano SIM card if i am purchasing for my iPhone 5 or a micro SIM card if i intend to use it in my iPad 2. Not sure if it works in a similar way in Dubai but when i travelled to London, i was able to get them.
     
  3. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #3
    Go here and check your phone's IMEI number:
    http://iphoneimei.info

    (Can be found in Settings > General > About)

    If it says it's unlocked, you're good to go. Just buy SIMs as you travel. If it's locked to Verizon then you'll have to call them. I have no idea what their policies are. AT&T unlocked my 2 year old iPhone when I traveled, but only because the contract was paid off. You'll have to talk to Verizon to see what their policies are. They change so often I can't keep track.

    If they unlock it, great. But if they won't unlock it then your choices are to either pay whatever international roaming fee Verizon wants to charge you :)eek:) or just put your phone in airplane mode and use it on just Wifi when you travel (and get a cheap little local phone for making phone calls).
     
  4. Graphixx30 macrumors newbie

    Graphixx30

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #4
    All Verizon iPhone 5S's are factory unlocked.
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    As others have pointed out, all Verizon iPhone 5/5c/5s are GSM unlocked.

    As for the SIM card, if you can't get a nano SIM, you're going to need to trim it down.
     
  6. SVTmaniac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #6
    Thanks for the tips everyone. So if I'm understanding correctly the 5s takes a Nano Sim card? Looks like my current Droid takes a Micro Sim Card. That sucks because I was hopeing to just swap SIM cards and keep my same number today.
     
  7. T5BRICK, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Your number shouldn't change if you swap SIM cards. You're talking about Verizon, right?

    *EDIT* Additionally, the fact that your data wasn't working when you were in Dubai last time may have had something to do with your APN settings.
     
  8. SVTmaniac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #8
    I know it won't change if I swap them, but the 5s uses a Nano and my Droid uses a Micro SIM, so I won't be able to just swap them like I wanted to.
     
  9. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    If it works anything like AT&T, when you activate your new phone, it is activated with the included SIM which disables your old SIM.
     
  10. SVTmaniac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #10
    Yes but I added a line to my Verizon account so it's going to come with a new number. I had planned on just swapping the Sim and giving the new number to my old phone, and keeping my old number for the new phone. I didn't realize they took two different size SIM cards though. Hopefully they can help me out when I pick it up at the store today.
     
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    Ah, yeah, they should be able to. At the very worst, you could pick up a SIM adapter to throw the nano SIM into the Droid, and cut down the micro SIM and throw it into the 5s.

    Are SIM cards even required in Verizon phones? My wifes old iPhone 4s works fine without one installed.
     
  12. SVTmaniac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #12
    They are required to use LTE, since the 4s doesn't have LTE it didn't need one.
     
  13. AlvinNguyen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    You can buy a $10 car trimmer on Amazon and trim the cards you buy overseas down. Really simple and cheap solution. Just search nano sim cutter on amazon.
     

Share This Page