Switching to a Macbook Air from Windows?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by DaBossIsHere, Oct 5, 2013.

1. DaBossIsHere, Oct 5, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2013

DaBossIsHere macrumors regular

Been thinking on this for a while now. Basically I am a college student searching for an ultrabook to take with me and take some notes. I have some questions about this though..

Will it be hard to adapt to Mac OS instead of Windows? (I always used Windows)
    Does it come with any software like Microsoft Office bundled with it?
    Can i use my Android phone freely like I use it on my Windows?

I will be using the Macbook specifically for these things and the casual browsing the internet and watching a movie there and then. Will it suit my needs? Thanks :D

EDIT: I thought to go for the Core-i5 model 1.3GHz. 256GB SSD. Is that a good model?? :)

2. massi88 macrumors newbie

We're in 2013!

I switched two months ago, and I'll probably never go back to Windows! OS X is great and you'll adapt very quickly. The only thing that surprised me was how apps are deleted: drag and drop to the basket! That's typical of Windows vs OS X, "complexity" of certain simple tasks is handled by the OS itself, not by the user.

No, you don't have an office analog built in. You can buy pages, keynote etc, but I did so and I regret it! Open Office is a better option.

I don't know about android phones since I own an iPhone.

I hope this helps! ;)

3. DaBossIsHere thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks man, really appreciate your help!!

4. luminouslight macrumors 6502

luminouslight

Once you use a Mac you won't want to touch a windows machine again. At least that's what happened to me! :D

5. northernbaldy macrumors 6502a

northernbaldy

You can buy MS office for the mac, I haven't bothered myself though as I use pages, etc

It's not that I hate windows, but I do find osx easier to use and mavericks looks like it's going to add some nice improvements