Switching to AT&T and need advice!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Principessax26, Jun 15, 2008.

1. Principessax26 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to all of this (all I have is a first gen. Nano) and need some advice. A little background info: I plan on switching to AT&T with the release of the iPhone on July 11th. My contract with T-Mobile is over on July 13th. Here are my predicaments:

1. I was told by T-Mobile I could take a "buy out" of my contract within the last month (6/13-7/13) and pay no cancellation fee, just my last month's bill. A (very testy) manager at my Apple store felt very strongly they lied to me. Have any of you done this before?

2. If I will be charged a cancellation fee, I plan to stick it out til the 13th. Can I still purchase an iPhone on the 11th&then have them port over my new number on the 13th?

I am just very confused&would like some advice from those who've maybe been in similar situations before with the first gen. iPhone. Any help is greatly appreciated !

2. MBHockey macrumors 68040

MBHockey

1. I don't really know (I have never had or known anyone with T-Mobile). But it does sound fishy. What did he say the cost of the buy-out would be? It sounds like this "buy-out" is T-Mobile pro-rating your early termination fee. Notwithstanding, I'd wait till the 13th. It's silly to pay T-Mobile any money for canceling your contract two days early.

2. This all depends on whether or not they are going to be very strict about requiring in-store activations for the new iPhone. With the 1st gen iPhone, you could have bought it two days before you activated it through iTunes if you wanted. I'm guessing more information will come to light as we approach the release date, so just keep your eyes open.

With all the information we have right now, it seems the safest thing is to just go on July 14th to an Apple or AT&T store to buy and activate your new iPhone 3G. There probably won't be any lines a few days after release anyway.