Switching to Mac

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by MacCentaur, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. MacCentaur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #1
    This is just a question to anyone who's had a similar situation as me. I may be switching over to the mac platform from windows and have some favorite programs i like to use. One being Autodesk Sketchbook that i got with my intuos. I was wondering if anyone was able to get this software over to the mac platform from the wacom website. I know there is a mac version available but i'm none to wealthy. Or if you could give me some alternatives that work just as good.

    Thanks a bunch :)
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Typically the software maker would offer a discount off the full the price if you are changing platform. Contact them to see how much it would cost to switch the license.
     
  3. MacCentaur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
  4. Nostromo macrumors 65816

    Nostromo

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Deep Space
    #4
    Check out if there is a standard application to do this on a Mac.

    Adobe exchanges their software at a very low price (I think it's just the price of a DVD, around $20).

    For software you can't find a Mac equivalent: you can still run Windows on a Mac. There are several programs like "Parallels" or "Bootcamp".
     
  5. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #5
    And if you have to do that, then switching to the Mac makes ZERO sense. You only double the cost of ownership, because you are maintaining two platforms instead of one. And if you run it in a virtual machine, you are losing a significant percentage of the performance. It just doesn't make any sense, unless it's only for a transitional period until you are able to replace all of your old software.

    I went through this mill myself and know how expensive switching your main computing platform is. Looking back at it, I would not do it again. Mac OS X just isn't that much better than Windows. I might still be using Apple hardware, though, because I like their design. But I wouldn't make that huge investment in software anymore and just stick with the Windows versions.
     
  6. Jim Campbell macrumors 6502a

    Jim Campbell

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Location:
    A World of my Own; UK
    #6
    Worth noting that Parallels is a VM, but Boot Camp is not and there should be little or no performance hit running Windows and associated applications under Boot Camp, although you do have the inconvenience of having to reboot to switch between OSs.

    Cheers

    Jim
     

Share This Page