Switching to MacBook Pro from PC

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ktmsupermoto, Jun 16, 2007.

1. ktmsupermoto macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I am seriously thinking of buying a MacBook Pro with glossy screen. Apart from owning an iPod Picture, I am new to Macs. I have always loved their appearance but have always been put off by the age old arguments concerning incompatibility with certain software. I am a director of a company and use a PC in the office. I am thinking of buying a laptop mainly for home use, E mail, watching movies, music etc but the laptop must be able to run certain programs that I run on my office PC as I also intend to do some work from home. It would appear that the MacBook Pro running parallel software that will permit running a copy of Windows xp as well as the latest mac operating system is the answer to all my prayers as. I could switch to windows to carry out some work related tasks and then back to mac for home use, all at the click of a mouse. I am based in the UK and finding people over here who have already used such a set up is proving to be quite difficult. I am really tempted to take the plunge but macs are very expensive in the UK and I dont want to make a costly mistake.

Any help would be much appreciated guys.

Thanks

2. mags631 Guest

Yes, Parallels (and VMWare) will allow you to set up Windows XP on your Mac and run office programs (like MS Office 2003). We have this set up on a Mac Mini at home for my wife and it works (with an odd crash and hanging).

For you, I would recommend using a blended approach (which Parallels and VMWare both allow): create a Boot Camp partition and install XP on it. That way you can always reboot into XP out of the VM if speed or VM issues are getting in your way. And you can always boot the partition in the VM to use it directly from Mac OS X.