Switching to Verizon in July; need some advice

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheAppleGeek, Jun 21, 2011.

1. TheAppleGeek macrumors 6502a

After an amazing turn of events, it turns out that I will be able to switch to Verizon much sooner than expected. I currently have an iPhone 4, and plan on switching to a White iPhone 4 once I sign with Verizon. Since I am new to this whole ordeal, I need some advice. Beforehand, here is the situation I am in:

I am going to pay a termination fee of $106 and after that, I am going to go to Verizon. Would it be best to sell my current iPhone to pay for the Verizon phone?

I am fully aware the next iPhone 5 will be available this Fall, ranging anywhere from August to early-October, and is there anyway I would be able to upgrade to it within the short amount of time of signing?

2. Yumunum macrumors 65816

Yumunum

If I know right you only have a 14 day period after buying your phone that you can return it and get a new one. So unless you got your white iPhone 4 within 14 days of the release of the iPhone 5, you'd be out of luck.

On a side note, why are you switching to Verizon? They have terrible 3G data speeds, and they're more expensive. If you NEED them because you have really bad coverage with AT&T, then yeah I guess it's worth it. Otherwise no.

I have an AT&T iPhone 4 and a Verizon iPad 2. I pay a close eye on my signal strength(s) and I've yet to have a moment where the Verizon iPad has better signal than the AT&T iP4. It's kinda disappointing. Data speeds are also around 5x slower on the iPad. It makes me so happy to know at least my iPhone is on AT&T.

That's my experience, but others might've got better coverage experiences. Idk

3. mikelegacy macrumors 65816

mikelegacy

My advice, hang around on whatever carrier you are till September.