Resolved SwitchResX Custom Resolution 2560*1080

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mrleonhuang, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. mrleonhuang, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015

    mrleonhuang macrumors newbie

    mrleonhuang

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I have a LG ultrawide monitor(2560*1080). I used SwithcResX to customize resolution as 2560*1080 when I was using Yosemite.

    But after I upgraded to El Capitan, the SwitchResX does't work anymore. I am using version 4.5.2. I turned off the SIP as instructed in SwitchResX website.
    [​IMG]
    I used the custom resolution parameters that I used in Yosemite, but it is always showing "not Installed"(I did restart).
    [​IMG]

    Although the SwtichResX website shows it supports El Capitan since version 4.5.2. But it doesn't work for me. And other 3rd party applications, for example, QuickRes, seem to be not supporting custom resolution. How you guys who need to custom resolution fix this problem?

    Thank you.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The problem solved.

    It should be a bug from El Capitan. I did a clean install the El Capitan, and used Migration Assistant to restore my files. ( I am not sure if this step makes difference)

    Then I removed the SwitchResX completely. And created a new user, and installed a new SwitchResX from this new user. And it worked!

    Thank you for the solution from :
    http://surajms.com/2015/04/fixing-switchresx-saving-issue/
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mjturner macrumors newbie

    mjturner

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Godalming, United Kingdom
    #2
    I've not tried that particular resolution but I had no problem using SwitchResX to create a custom 3840x2400 (= 1920x1200 HiDPI) resolution for use on my 13" rMBP. I did have to disable SIP to allow for the resolution profile to be saved, but it worked fine (I re-enabled afterwards, as disabling is only only needed for the initial creation of the profile).
     
  3. mrleonhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    mrleonhuang

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #3
    Thank you for the information. I have 2 questions:

    1. After you disable SIP, and you enter "csrutil status", does it show the information above as my screenshot? like "System Integrity Protection Status : enabled (Custom Configuration)".

    2. When you created the custom resolution and save it, does it show "need reboot" or "not installed"?
     
  4. aevan macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #4
    I never got SwitchResX to work on El Capitan, but I use QuickRes and it works perfectly. It's only $5.
    http://www.quickresapp.com

    I can get custom resolutions, HiDPI modes, etc. I use it to force my Cintiq Companion 2 into retina mode (it has 1440p on 13" screen which is retina ppi). And it's much easier to use than SwitchResX if you only need custom resolutions. Also, it doesn't require to switch off rootless/SIP.

    Please note, I'm not in any way affiliated with them, I just really like the app :)
     
  5. mrleonhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    mrleonhuang

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    I really want try it. But I heard it does not support custom resolution. For example, does it support 2560*1080 (21:9)?
     
  6. aevan macrumors 68000

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #6
    Hmmmm, I don't have that resolution listed. Then again, perhaps it's monitor dependent. Anyway, I guess you need SwitchResX then :( Sorry, my mistake.
     
  7. mrleonhuang thread starter macrumors newbie

    mrleonhuang

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    I will figure it out more though. Thank you for your information.
     
  8. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #8
    This doesn't totally help, but try RDM. I love it.
     
  9. G.Felix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    #9
    I tried here, create new user and it continues "Not Installed"
    --- Post Merged, Apr 17, 2017 ---
    Não fix here!!

    El Capitan - Ultrawide 34 - mac mini 2012
    Tunderbolt to hdmi

    i try 4 times creat new user... :(
     

Share This Page