Swype free on the app store?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by TheSacredSoul, Nov 5, 2014.

  1. TheSacredSoul macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #1
    I just downloaded Swype for free from the app store. It was free in the Top Paid session. But I can't see any website or description saying it's free for the day. Can anyone confirm.
     
  2. Kroner, Nov 5, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2014

    Kroner macrumors regular

    Kroner

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    Costs money on my end (Norwegian App store).
    Edit: Now it is free with me as well.
     
  3. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    Shows up for $0.99 in the US App Store currently. Perhaps some glitch? Or maybe you had purchased it before or had some promotional way of getting it for free for some reason?
     
  4. sWirL84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #4
    It's free here for me as well (Singapore App Store).
     
  5. TheSacredSoul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #5
    Yup, I am on the Singapore app store as well.
     
  6. nightstalkerz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
  7. cosminsel macrumors member

    cosminsel

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  8. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
  9. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #9
    Yep. Downloading here too.
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    Yup, changed to free just recently.
     
  12. nepalisherpa macrumors 68020

    nepalisherpa

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Downloaded it just so that I have it in my "purchased" list. Still not going to use any 3rd party keyboards. Not sure why they need to capture and transmit everything you type.
     
  13. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    They don't really do that, and various ones (like Swype) don't even ask for any access anyway.
     
  14. nepalisherpa macrumors 68020

    nepalisherpa

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #14
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    They definitely ask if it comes to needing that access (otherwise it's disabled by default), that's what that pop-up shown and described in the article is all about, prompting the user to allow full access or not. But even then the "full access" is generally misapplied/misunderstood, as also discussed in that article.
     

Share This Page