Sync gmail with adress book

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Cams, Jan 3, 2009.

  1. Cams macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Isle of Arran, UK
    #1
    I'm running Leopard with all the latest updates. I did some googling to see if I could sync my gmail contacts with the OS X address book. I found this link:

    http://googlemac.blogspot.com/2008/05/mac-os-x-1053-sync-google-contacts.html

    Magic, I thought. However the prefs pane in address book on my system does not have Google listed, only Exchange, Yahoo and MobileMe. How do I get it to add Google to the list? Failing that, are there other methods for syncing gmail contacts with address book?

    Thanks
    Cams
     
  2. Ashka macrumors 6502a

    Ashka

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I used 'address to gmail' software to send my address book to gmail, it doesn't sync but at least all the addresses are there just in case..

    http://bborofka.com/atog/
     
  3. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #3
    Yeah, pretty crappy of Google eh?
     
  4. Cams thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Isle of Arran, UK
    #4
    Yeah, crappy indeed. Oh well.
     
  5. dlandin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #5
  6. mynameisraj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    #6
    I just use soocial. Easy and simple - phone, mac and gmail in sync.
     
  7. Cams thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Isle of Arran, UK
    #7
    That was a neat trick and I got Google to appear by manually creating the plist file. However how do I get the actualy syncing to happen? I've hooked up to my gmail account and also tried a Yahoo account and no syncing takes place. It's almost as if there should be a big SYNC button somewhere to make it all happen, but I can't find that. Is it supposed to happen automatically?

    Cheers
    Cams
     
  8. heyp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #8
    same question... anyone have a solution?
     
  9. Cams thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Isle of Arran, UK
    #9
    I just gave up and bought a licence for Spanning Sync. It does my iCal / Google calendar too.
     

Share This Page