Sync Process Takes HOURS - Any Reason?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by fannin269, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. fannin269 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #1
    Since upgrading to 3.0, my iPod Touch 2g has taken longer each time to clear the "Backing Up Fannin's iPod" phase initializing each Sync. First, it was a couple minutes. Then 20. Today, it's two hours and counting and the bar isn't halfway to completion.

    What does this suggest?
     
  2. Lukeyboy01 macrumors regular

    Lukeyboy01

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #2
    all i can think of is a dying hardrive or maybe somethings gone wrong in software
     
  3. fannin269 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #3
    Thanks. The device exhibits no other sign of a dying hard drive.

    I should have downloaded the newest iTunes version when reminded...or waited until 3.1 was out.
     
  4. cmichaelb macrumors 68020

    cmichaelb

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas
    #4
    Odd issue...backups seem to be getting faster for me
     
  5. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #5
    The iPod touch uses flash chips and not a hard drive, so it shouldn't be exhibiting that sort of problem.
     
  6. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    As with any piece of hardware that backs things up, the more you do it, the faster it gets. The first backup would take a while and it would get faster as it goes along. This is perfectly normal, if it starts out slow and gets faster. Not a bug for sure.
     
  7. fannin269 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #7
    It must be a hardware problem, although you'd think some other symptom would appear.

    If I try a Restore, would purchases on the Touch be lost because they had not been sync'd with iTunes?
     
  8. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Yes, they would become lost without a sync.
     
  9. cakbar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #9
    Have you recently added any apps that have a large cache? The reason I'm asking is that I recently installed Fluent News (a great news aggregator btw) that has a very large cache. Since then, the time taken to backup has slowed to a snails pace to the point that I now delete the app before syncing my touch and reinstall later. This has nothing to do with 3.0 as I'm still running 2.1.
     
  10. MaxPower49 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #10
    Yes, there are certain apps that store a lot of data which itunes backs up and can take a long time...
     
  11. fannin269 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #11
    You TOTALLY solved it.

    I had installed Fluent and the cache was the culprit.

    Many thanks.
     
  12. Lukeyboy01 macrumors regular

    Lukeyboy01

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #12
    i meant the computer
     

Share This Page