Sync'd my iphone now a problem

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by sagers2, Jul 12, 2009.

1. sagers2 macrumors newbie

I am new to the whole Iphone thing so I apologize for my ignorance. I sync'd my phone with Itunes and it not only put my phone contacts on my phone but all of my email contacts. I did not want all of my email contacts in there, just my "phone" ones, question is now how do I go back and get them off my phone using Itunes, is this possible or do I have to manually do it??

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!
    Laurie

2. drawstring macrumors member

you'll have to clean them up in os x's address book, then when you sync again check off the box that says "replace contacts on iphone"

3. isaaclimdc macrumors 6502

isaaclimdc

You can set up your iPhone to sync with your Outlook contacts (sounds like you're using Windows), in that case I don't think there's a way for you to selectively sync contacts. Someone correct me if I'm wrong?

4. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

Are you using a Mac?

If so, in address book you can make "smart" groups and then in iTunes on the phone you can choose to only sync a particular group (however, It can't be a smart group).

So what you want to do is...
    Create a smart group that is all contacts who have a phone number.
    Then create a normal group and drag all the contacts in the smart group into the new normal group.
    In iTunes you should be able to choose to only sync that particular group and there is also a checkbox to "add all new contacts to this group" on the iPhone.

5. sagers2 thread starter macrumors newbie